Title: Just Kin

Author: Caryl McAdoo

Genre: Christian Historical Fiction

Release Date: January 2, 2016

Overview:  Love covers  has a multitude of sin.   A stolen kiss ignites a fire that burns all the way from Texas to New York City. Torn apart by war, rejection, and a letter with news she never wanted, Lacey Rose takes her shredded heart and runs. Charley figures out something isn’t right, but is duty-bound to the Confederacy until a deathbed order sets in motion a series of events that tests his love, honor, and commitment to the breaking point.  Can the two lifelong friends see past the pain to finally realize God’s plan for them to be more than just kin?

My Ideation:  Just Kin is the sixth book in the Texas Romance Series.  It can be read alone, but I suggest reading the entire series in order to know the characters from beginning to end.

This is the second book in the series I have read.  I read the fifth book recently.  I expected Just Kin to be like the other book I read, wholesome.  Lacey Rose runs away from home, becomes a gambler and a prostitute.  While on his journey to find Lacey Rose and bring her home, Charley has pre-marital sex with not one, but two women.  I admit that I was disappointed at first.  Then I began to realize that who am I to judge, even characters in a book?  McAdoo brings sin into the story to show that we all stray – we all fall short of the glory of God.  Lacey Rose realizes her sins at the end and asks God for forgiveness. This was crucial in the story.  Again, it was a reminder that God forgives – all we need to do is ask.  Lacey Rose’s trials brought her back to the Lord, which is exactly where she needed to be.  In turn, she was blessed in that Charley found her and she and her true love were able to become one – husband and wife.

About the Author:  Caryl, praying her story gives God glory, loves writing for Christian genres–historical and contemporary romance, Biblical fiction, and mid-grade especially. In 2014, Simon and Schuster debuted VOW UNBROKEN, a historical Christian romance set in 1832 Texas, and Caryl followed with three additional novels. In April, LADY LUCK’S A LOSER (contemporary, mature, inspirational romance); September’s debut, HEARTS STOLEN (set in 1839-1844), book two of her historical Christian Texas Romances–a #1 Amazon Best-seller; and in November, A LITTLE LOWER THAN THE ANGELS, volume one of her new Biblical fiction series, The Generations–also an Amazon #1 Best-seller.

For every good blessing – including ten children (four by birth, six by marriage) and sixteen grandsugars – she gives God the glory. Caryl lives a country-life with Ron, her high school sweetheart husband of forty-seven years and two grandsons, in the woods a few miles south of Clarksville, Red River County seat, located in far Northeast Texas with two grandsons Christian (16) and Benjamen (13).
Summation: 4/5
I was given a free book in exchange for my honest opinion/review.
Order your book at: 
Enter for a chance to win the entire Texas Romance Series