About the Book

When Stanley saves a man, he’s given a mysterious device that allows him to travel through time. But he soon learns that changing his past doesn’t necessary lead to a better future. Traveling over 100 years into the future may be the only way Stanley can change his fate and save his family.

 

About the Author

Melanie Bateman was born in Caracas, Venezuela, and moved to the United States at age nine. She has an associate’s degree in fine art from Utah Valley University, emphasizing in illustration. From a very young age she’s had a passion for drawing, specifically nature and the human figure. It is from this creative look on the world that she began to write stories.

Picture

My Ideation

This was a fun book to read!  I had not read a book with a narrator for a very long time.  I loved how the narrator would actually “speak directly to the reader.”  It made me feel like the story was being read to me rather than me reading it myself.   This was definitely imagination at its finest.  I loved the traveling Stanley did.  I’ve always been fascinated by the thought of time travel.  Through the narrator’s descriptions, I felt like I was there with Stanley.  I could even imagine the dizziness Stanley felt when he traveled. 

I also enjoyed the little girl (miniature girl).  She had a lot of spunk and came to rely on Stanley.  She brought joy into Stanley’s very sad existence.  It was heartfelt.  The narrator also described her so well that I could really picture her.  It was fun to imagine her.

The story had a lot of twists and turns, which made me crave reading it.  I even wanted to share the story with my 15 year old son!

I was given a free copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

 

Summation

♥♥♥♥

