About the Cookbook

A collection of delicious honey recipes from the Honeybee Sisters book series, featuring quotes and recipes from Sweet as Honey, A Bee in her Bonnet, and Like a Bee to Honey–Amish romances by Jennifer Beckstrand.

Lily, Poppy, and Rose Christner, known as the Honeybee Sisters in their Amish community, are smart, inseparable, and all grown up. Orphaned when they were very young, the girls were raised by their eccentric Aunt Bitsy, who doesn’t behave like a proper Amish spinster. The Honeybee Sisters have blossomed into rare beauties, and the boys in the community have begun to take notice. But Aunt Bitsy is determined to scare off all comers with her brusque manner and her handy shotgun. None but the most worthy will make it past Bitsy’s defenses. It’s going to be a rowdy and romantic summer–harvesting honey from their many beehives and fighting off the boys right and left.

Note from Aunt Bitsy When my girls told me they wanted to write a cookbook, I wasn’t too keen on the idea. Food attracts boys like honey attracts bees. I warned them that if they didn’t want the boys hanging around the house, they shouldn’t make the cakes and pies and cookies that are sure to bring them running. My nieces didn’t seem to be alarmed about the prospect of boys all over the place, so I suppose they’ll have to learn the hard way.

My problem is that smart, feisty, pretty girls attract boys even better than honey does. So even if my girls stopped cooking altogether, I have a sneaking suspicion that the boys would still find excuses to come over.

Some of the recipes in this book, like Honey Glazed Pretzels and Whole Wheat Bread, are very traditional Amish dishes. Others, like Salmon Tacos and Coconut Lime Chicken, are less traditional but still wunderbarr. I lived as an Englischer for twenty years before coming back to the Amish to raise my three nieces, and as a dental hygienist, I collected a lot of recipes.

Here’s my final warning: Boys are like stray cats. If you feed them, they’ll keep coming back. Buy this cookbook at your own risk.

 

About the Author, Jennifer Beckstrand

Jennifer Beckstrand is the award winning Amish romance author of The Matchmakers of Huckleberry Hill series for Kensington Books. Huckleberry Summer was nominated for the RT Book Reviews Reviewer’s Choice Award and the 2015 RITA® Award, and Huckleberry Hill won the 2014 LIME Award for Inspirational fiction. Both Huckleberry Hill and Huckleberry Christmas appeared in Examiner.com list of top ten inspirational books for 2014. Her much-anticipated Amish series, The Honeybee Sisters, will be released Summer of 2016 and promises to create a lot of romantic buzz.

Jennifer has always been drawn to the strong faith and the enduring family ties of the Plain people and loves writing about the antics of Anna and Felty Helmuth and the Honeybee sisters’ Aunt Bitsy. Jennifer has a degree in mathematics and a background in editing. She and her husband have been married for thirty-one years, and she has four daughters, two sons, and four adorable grandchildren, whom she spoils rotten.

Books by Jennifer Beckstrand

The Honeybee Sisters Series:
Sweet as Honey (June 2016)
A Bee in her Bonnet (July 2016)
Like a Bee to Honey (August 2016)

The Matchmakers of Huckleberry Hill Series:
Huckleberry Hill
Huckleberry Summer
Huckleberry Christmas
Huckleberry Spring
Huckleberry Harvest
Huckleberry Hearts

A Perfect Amish Christmas in “An Amish Christmas Quilt”
The Christmas Bakery on Huckleberry Hill in “An Amish Christmas Kitchen” (Sept. 2016)

Forever Apple in Apple Lake Series:
Kate’s Song
Rebecca’s Rose
Miriam’s Quilt

Jennifer Beckstrand

My Ideation

I had the pleasure of reading Sweet as Honey a few weeks ago and thoroughly enjoyed it!  I was excited that I was going to be able to review The Honeybee Sisters’ Cookbook too!!  There were so many yummy recipes to try, but being that my oven is currently not working I opted to make the Oatmeal Honey Scotchies because I could bake them in my toaster oven.  These were delicious cookies!!  They consisted of oatmeal, honey, and butterscotch morsels.  Of course there were other ingredients, but you’ll have to buy the cookbook to find out what they are.  The taste was very different from the many different cookie recipes I’ve tried.  My 15 year old son loved them too and noticed the different taste.  They were the perfect amount of sweetness and I loved adding the honey.  I have never made cookies with honey before.  Once  my oven is up and running, I plan on making the Honey Sweet Potatoes and the Sweet and Spicy Pork Roast to start with.

I was given a free copy of this cookbook for my honest opinion.

 

Summation

♥♥♥♥

