Picture

About the Book

In fifty-plus concise, focused, appealing, and penetrating meditations on scriptural passages, this book offers in-sights and challenges applied to 21st-century American life. The voice is original, unyielding and gentle, guiding, asking the readers to turn from busy-ness to consider, confront, and appreciate God in ourselves, in others, and beyond us and to be able to bring the divine to our scattered, tormented, and troubled planet. This book is surely a true gift of the spirit.” — Dr. Laura Dabundo, Inspirational-Religious Judge for the Georgia Author of the Year Awards

 

About the Author

Rose’s devotional journal, God, Me, and Sweet Iced Tea: Experiencing God in the Midst of Everyday Moments won the Georgia Author of the Year Finalist Award in 2014. It was also awarded the Selah Finalist Award in the same year. Rose enjoys writing for her blog, Write Moments with God and engaging with her readers. My Father’s House, published in March 2016, is her first novel. A native Georgian, Rose has lived in a suburb of Augusta for the last thirty years. Before retiring from Georgia’s public school system, Rose taught English, French, and ESOL. She is currently an adjunct English instructor at a community college. In addition to reading and writing, Rose enjoys cooking, sewing, gardening, and spending time with her six children and their growing families. And yes, sweet iced tea is her beverage of choice.

Picture

 

My Review

This was my first review on a devotional book.  It was great!  I made the choice to read a devotion each day, rather than trying to read the entire thing as a regular book.  I’m really glad that I did.  I got a lot out of the devotions that I read.  I even took it to school and read two devotions to my fellow teachers and the principle during the week that I had to do devotions.

Each devotion has a little story that goes along with the title.  There are multiple verses to look up, which I really liked.  Too many devotionals give maybe one verse and I just don’t feel that that’s enough.  The author also included a journal question/questions.  There is a prayer, Today’s Sweet Tea Moment, and a prayer focus.  The prayer wraps up the reading.  The Today’s Sweet Tea Moment is kind of a reminder that goes along with the reading.  The prayer focus allows the reader to focus on something specific that day.  Each devotion I read touched upon something I needed to hear and helped me to start my day off right!

I received a copy of this book in exchange for my honest opinion.  

 

Summation

♥♥♥♥

Giveaway

Picture

powered by Rafflecopter

